To purchase a handgun or pistol in the state of North Carolina, either a non-expired North Carolina Pistol Purchase Permit or a copy of a non-expired North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit is required. We have compiled the steps into a quick reference for obtaining both a North Carolina Pistol Purchase Permit and a North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Permit. Included in this article are some local Sheriff’s Office websites regarding their firearm permitting process.
HOW TO OBTAIN A NORTH CAROLINA PISTOL PURCHASE PERMIT
General Requirements to Apply:
- Must be able to properly complete the application process
- Must be 21 years of age or older to purchase from an FFL or 18 for the purchase of a firearm through a private sale
- Must provide current/valid ID in the form of either an NC driver’s license or NC state identification card
- Must be a US Citizen or a permanent resident
- Must be a resident of North Carolina for a minimum of 30 days and provide proof of residency in your county. (NC ID or driver’s license)
- Must provide a list of previous addresses back to age 16 or the past 20 years, whichever is shorter
- Must be of good moral character
- Must not have any pending criminal charges that if convicted would be a disqualifying offense
- Must pass a criminal history background check
- Must be eligible to own, possess or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law
- Applicant must be required to authorize a mental health check
Applying for your County Pistol Purchase Permit
Confirm that your North Carolina Driver’s License or Identification Card is not expired and reflects your current living address. If that identification is expired or incorrect, you will be required to update your identification.
Visit the government website of the county that you currently reside in. Once on the appropriate website, we suggest using the search bar and typing in ‘Pistol Purchase Permit’. Search results will typically display that County’s specific requirements, process and the online application.
Decide whether you would like to apply online or in-person. We suggest applying online because it will save you a trip to the Sheriff’s Department. However, if you wish to apply in person you will most likely be required to set up an appointment with your Sheriff’s Department to complete the application. (Some Departments accept walk-ins – most do not).
If you decide to apply for your Pistol Purchase Permit online, you may do so at this point. At the end of the application, you will be given the option to pay online or you may pay in-person at the time of your application.
Pistol Purchase Permit Fees – Rules of 5
- $5.00 per permit
- You can obtain up to 5 permits at one time
- Permits do not expire for five years
- Some counties require a small processing fee if you apply and pay online – typically $3.00
Upon completion, the Sheriff’s Department you have applied with will contact you to set up an appointment for you to come with the purpose of dropping off a Mental Health Release Form and providing them with proper identification. At this point in the process, most Sheriff’s Departments will provide you with your Pistol Purchase Permits
Now that you have your Pistol Purchase Permits, you are ready to purchase your next pistol! Keep in mind that a Pistol Purchase Permit is turned over to the FFL Dealer (firearm store) and kept on file by them. One permit per pistol is required. For example, if you purchase two 9MM pistols from a local shop, you will need to provide them two pistol purchase permits.
HOW TO OBTAIN A NORTH CAROLINA CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT
General Requirements to Apply:
- Be 21 years of age or older
- Be a United States citizen or lawful permanent resident alien.
- Be a resident of North Carolina for 30 days preceding the filing of the application
- Be a resident of Wake County
- Not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that would prevent the safe handling of a handgun
- Not have any of the prohibitions listed in NCGS 14-415.12(b) or Title 18, United States Code (U.S.C.), 922
Applying for your North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit
Before you can submit an application for an NC Concealed Carry Handgun Permit, the successful completion of an approved North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Course (CCH) is required. Triangle Shooting Academy offers the North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun (CCH) Course multiple times a month.
- The NC Concealed Carry Handgun Course is a state-mandated 8-hour (minimum) course that encompasses the legalities behind carrying a concealed firearm. Successful completion will be determined by a written exam and shooting qualification. The written exam and qualification have been developed and distributed to training facilities by the NCDOJ.
- The shooting qualification is 10 rounds at 3 yards, 15 rounds at 5 yards and 15 rounds at 7 yards. A passing qualification consists of 28/40 rounds to hit within the 7-Ring of a standard B27 target.
Your Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor will issue you a certificate of successful completion. The original certificate is required to be turned over to the Sheriff’s Department. Do not lose this certificate as they are serialized by the NCDOJ and cannot be reissued.
Now that you have your course certificate, confirm that your North Carolina Driver’s License or Identification Card is not expired and reflects your current living address. If that identification is expired or incorrect, you will be required to update your identification prior to the application process.
Visit the government website of the county that you currently reside in. Once on the appropriate website, we suggest using the search bar and typing in ‘Concealed Carry Permit’. Search results will typically display that County’s specific requirements, process and application form. Concealed Carry Handgun Permits are completed by the Sheriff’s Department.
All Sheriff’s Departments require that applications be submitted in person. To expedite services, many Departments use an online service that will allow you to complete the application, print it, make payment for your permit and set up the required appointment. Note: Please refer to your county’s policies about signatures. Some counties do not want you to sign the printed application until you arrive in person and the document can be notarized.
If your Sheriff’s Department does not have appointment reservations online, you will need to call them and make an appointment.
Concealed Carry Handgun Permit Fees
- New Permit – $90.00
- Renewal Permit – $75.00
- If paying online, a processing fee may occur – typically $4.00
Arrive at your appointment early and be prepared to turn over the following documents: NC Concealed Carry Course Certificate, valid NC photo identification, and your completed NC Concealed Carry Handgun Permit application.
Once your application has been submitted in person, the Sheriff’s Department personnel will instruct you on how to obtain a set of fingerprints from CCBI (City-County Bureau of Identification).
When your NC Concealed Carry Handgun Permit is ready, depending on the county you may be required to pick up your permit in person or they may mail it to your provided address.
Now that you have your North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Permit, you are ready to carry a handgun concealed or you may purchase firearms using your CCH Permit as the background check. If you are interested in purchasing a firearm, simply bring your NC CCH Permit along with your NC photo I.D. to our facility and a Retail Team Member will take a copy of these documents. The valid NC CCH permit takes place of needing a Pistol Purchase Permit or the need to perform a background check.